Copyright 2019 Breeding Racing Friday, 22nd March 2019 News / Breeding Racing (www.breedingracing.com) Australian Breeding & Racing Magazine is the definitive guide to the thoroughbred breeding & racing industry across Australia, New Zealand & South-east Asia - a MUST for all equine enthusiasts, potential investors & breeding aficionados. http://www.breedingracing.com en-us gknowles@breedingracing.com gknowles@breedingracing.com 7.05pm: Achernar Star Wins Listed Grandstand Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/7-05pm-achernar-star-wins-listed-grandstand-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/7-05pm-achernar-star-wins-listed-grandstand-cup/ %%20190323_ASC_R6:Grandstand Cup%% In Saturday’s second feature at Ascot in Perth, Yarradale Stud stallion Gingerbread Man (Shamardal-Quafle, by Hurricane Sky) celebrated a stakes success when 4YO gelding Achernar Star (Gingerbread Man-Morine, by Danetime) ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 6.10pm: Tyzone Wins Listed Goldmarket http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/6-10pm-tyzone-wins-listed-goldmarket/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/6-10pm-tyzone-wins-listed-goldmarket/ %%20190323_GCO_R8:Tab Goldmarket%% At the Gold Coast, Woodside Park's high profile Gr2-winning stallion Written Tycoon (Iglesias-Party Miss, by Kenmare) added a stakes success when 5YO gelding Tyzone (Written Tycoon-Rezonet, by Hussonet) scored a last gasp ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 6.25pm: Rio Del Mar Wins Gr3 Gimcrack Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/6-25pm-rio-del-mar-wins-gr3-gimcrack-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/6-25pm-rio-del-mar-wins-gr3-gimcrack-stakes/ %%20190323_ASC_R5:Furphy - Gimcrack Stakes%% At Ascot in Perth, Sun Stud's Gr1 Galaxy-winning stallion Magnus (Flying Spur-Scandinavia, by Snippets) added a Group success when 2YO filly Rio Del Mar (Magnus-Costanera, by Encosta De Lago) scored ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 5.49pm: Beethoven Wins Listed Perth Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/5-49pm-beethoven-wins-listed-perth-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/5-49pm-beethoven-wins-listed-perth-stakes/ %%20190323_ASC_R4:Wormall Civil - Perth Stakes%% At Ascot in Perth, Darley's Australian three-time Gr1-winning shuttler Helmet (Exceed and Excel-Accessories, by Singspiel) celebrated a stakes victory when 2YO gelding Beethoven (Helmet-Molto Allegro, by Fast 'n' Famous) refused to roll over ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 5.45pm: Semari Wins Gr3 Epona Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/5-45pm-semari-wins-gr3-epona-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/5-45pm-semari-wins-gr3-epona-stakes/ %%20190323_ROS_R9:E-Group Security Epona Stakes%% In the lucky last at one of the greatest ever race meetings staged at Rosehill Gardens in front of a massive crowd, ill-fated Widden Stud stallion Sebring (More Than Ready-Purespeed, ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 5.10pm: Nature Strip Wins Gr1 The Galaxy http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/5-10pm-nature-strip-wins-gr1-the-galaxy/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/5-10pm-nature-strip-wins-gr1-the-galaxy/ %%20190323_ROS_R8:Ooh Media Galaxy%% In the last of Rosehill Gardens’ five Gr1 races on Saturday, Widden Stud's dual Gr1-winning sire Nicconi (Bianconi-Nicola Lass, by Scenic) celebrated a Gr1 triumph when enigmatic 4YO gelding ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 4.50pm: Streets Of Avalon Wins Listed Hareeba Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/4-50pm-streets-of-avalon-wins-listed-hareeba-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/4-50pm-streets-of-avalon-wins-listed-hareeba-stakes/ %%20190323_MOG_R8:Ladbrokes Hareeba Stakes%% At Mornington in Victoria, Sun Stud's Gr1 Galaxy-winning stallion Magnus (Flying Spur-Scandinavia, by Snippets) added a stakes-race success when 4YO gelding Streets Of Avalon (Magnus-Kamuniak, by Black Minnaloushe) sat second, eased off the ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 4.30pm: Kiamichi Wins Gr1 Golden Slipper http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/4-30pm-kiamichi-wins-gr1-golden-slipper/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/4-30pm-kiamichi-wins-gr1-golden-slipper/ %%20190323_ROS_R7:Longines Golden Slipper%% At Rosehill Gardens in Sydney, there were extraordinary scenes when the mighty Godolphin blue army put the $3.5 million Gr1 Golden Slipper field to the sword,  filling the first ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 4.10pm: Self Sense Wins Listed Mornington Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/4-10pm-self-sense-wins-listed-mornington-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/4-10pm-self-sense-wins-listed-mornington-cup/ %%20190323_MOG_R7:Ladbrokes Mornington Cup%% At Mornington, south-east of Melbourne, Darley's 2006 Champion 2YO Colt & 2007 Gr1 Kentucky Derby-winning shuttler Street Sense (Street Cry-Bedazzle, by Dixieland Band) added a black-type success when 8YO ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 3.45pm: Avilius Wins Gr1 Ranvet Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/3-45pm-avilius-wins-gr1-ranvet-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/3-45pm-avilius-wins-gr1-ranvet-stakes/ %%20190323_ROS_R6:Ranvet Stakes%% On a glorious day of racing at Rosehill Gardens, 5YO UK-bred gelding Avilius (Pivotal-Alessandria, by Sunday Silence) scored a superb 2.3-length victory for trainer James Cummings in the $700,000 Weight ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 3.05pm: Winx Wins Gr1 George Ryder Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/3-05pm-winx-wins-gr1-george-ryder-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/3-05pm-winx-wins-gr1-george-ryder-stakes/ %%20190323_ROS_R5:The Agency George Ryder Stakes%% In Sydney at Rosehill, Darley's deceased shuttler & Gr1 Dubai World Cup winner Street Cry (Machiavellian-Helen Street, by Troy) celebrated another Gr1 victory when 7YO mare Winx ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 2.33pm: Residential Wins Gr3 South Island TB Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/2-33pm-residential-wins-gr3-south-island-tb-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/2-33pm-residential-wins-gr3-south-island-tb-stakes/ %%20190323_RCT_R8:Valachi Downs Breeders Stakes%% At Riccarton Park in New Zealand, Waikato Stud's Gr1 Australian Guineas-winning stallion Pins (Snippets-No Finer, by Kaoru Star) celebrated a black-type success when 5YO mare Residential (Pins-Metropolitan, by ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 2.25pm: The Autumn Sun Wins Gr1 Rosehill Guineas http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/2-25pm-the-autumn-sun-wins-gr1-rosehill-guineas/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/2-25pm-the-autumn-sun-wins-gr1-rosehill-guineas/ %%20190323_ROS_R4:Sky Racing Rosehill Guineas%% In Sydney at Rosehill, Arrowfield Stud's multiple Champion Australian Sire Redoute's Choice (Danehill-Shantha's Choice, by Canny Lad) celebrated a major Gr1 success when star 3YO colt The Autumn ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 2.15pm: Volpe Veloce Wins Gr2 Japan NZ International Trophy http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/2-15pm-volpe-veloce-wins-gr2-japan-nz-international-trophy/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/2-15pm-volpe-veloce-wins-gr2-japan-nz-international-trophy/ %%20190323_TRN_R7:Windsor Pk Stud Japan Nz Trphy%% At Tauranga in New Zealand, former Newgate Farm and now Woodside Park Stud Gr1-winning shuttle stallion Foxwedge (Fastnet Rock-Forest Native, by Forest Wildcat) added a Group success ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 1.45pm: Midterm Wins Gr3 N E Manion Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/1-45pm-midterm-wins-gr3-n-e-manion-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/1-45pm-midterm-wins-gr3-n-e-manion-cup/ %%20190323_ROS_R3:Irresistible Pools Manion Cup%% In Sydney’s west at Rosehill Gardens, Coolmore Stud’s superbly successful world champion stallion Galileo (Sadler’s Wells-Urban Sea, by Miswaki) added a new Group winner when beautifully-bred 6YO gelding Midterm (Galileo-Midday, ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 1.10pm: Krone Wins Listed Darby Munro Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/1-10pm-krone-wins-listed-darby-munro-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/1-10pm-krone-wins-listed-darby-munro-stakes/ %%20190323_ROS_R2:Camera House Darby Munro%% At Rosehill in Sydney, Newgate Farm’s Gr2-winning, Gr1-placed sire Eurozone (Northern Meteor-Miss Vandal, by Don't Say Halo) added a black-type win when 3YO filly Krone (Eurozone-Soft Landing, by ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 SAT 12.30pm: Avantage Wins Gr3 Birthday Card Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/sat-12-30pm-avantage-wins-gr3-birthday-card-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/sat-12-30pm-avantage-wins-gr3-birthday-card-stakes/ %%20190323_ROS_R1:Tab Birthday Card Stakes%% In the opening event at a sun-splashed Rosehill Gardens on Saturday, Coolmore's former Gr1-winning Champion Australian Sire Fastnet Rock (Danehill-Piccadilly Circus, by Royal Academy) celebrated a Group success ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 10.00pm Consensus Wins Gr2 Sunline Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/10-00pm-consensus-wins-gr2-sunline-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/10-00pm-consensus-wins-gr2-sunline-stakes/ %%20190322_MOV_R8:Sheamus Mills Sunline Stakes%% In the final race At Moonee Valley on Friday, deceased Westbury Stud stallion Postponed (Summer Squall-Bridal Tea, by Gulch) added a Gr2 triumph when New Zealand-bred 7YO mare Consensus (Postponed-Kate ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 9.30pm: Sunlight Wins Gr1 William Reid Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/9-30pm-sunlight-wins-gr1-william-reid-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/9-30pm-sunlight-wins-gr1-william-reid-stakes/ %%20190322_MOV_R7:Keogh Homes William Reid Stks%% In Moonee Valley’s feature race on Friday night Widden Stud stallion and former 3YO champion Australian sprinter Zoustar (Northern Meteor-Zouzou, by Redoute's Choice) celebrated further Gr1 success ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 9.00pm: Princess Jenni Wins Gr3 Alexandra Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/9-00pm-princess-jenni-wins-gr3-alexandra-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/9-00pm-princess-jenni-wins-gr3-alexandra-stakes/ %%20190322_MOV_R6:Dynamic Print Alexandra Stakes%% On William Reid Stakes night at Melbourne’s Moonee Valley circuit, Coolmore's deceased dual Derby-winning shuttler & 6-time Gr1 victor High Chaparral (Sadler's Wells-Kasora, by Dashaan) added a new ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 7.00pm: Cheer Leader Wins Listed Valley Pearl http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/7-00pm-cheer-leader-wins-listed-valley-pearl/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/7-00pm-cheer-leader-wins-listed-valley-pearl/ %%20190322_MOV_R2:Sun Stud Valley Pearl%% At Moonee Valley in Melbourne, Arrowfield Stud's incumbent Champion and current leading Australian Sire Snitzel (Redoute's Choice-Snippets' Lass, by Snippets) sired a new stakes-winner when 2YO filly Cheer Leader (Snitzel-Gold ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 FRI 4.20pm: ABANDONED Listed Albury Gold Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/fri-4-20pm-abandoned-listed-albury-gold-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/fri-4-20pm-abandoned-listed-albury-gold-cup/ %%20190322_ALR_R6:Commercial Clb Albury Gold Cup%% ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 B&R Black Type Weekend Wager Watch http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/breeding-racing-black-type-weekend-wager-watch/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/breeding-racing-black-type-weekend-wager-watch/ Unquestionably, one of the greatest weekends of racing, wagering less so… Both Winx and The Autumn Sun should win, but at $1.06 and $1.35 any value has been picked bare. Across ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Quality On Offer In Perth Autumn Thoroughbred Sale http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/quality-on-offer-in-perth-autumn-thoroughbred-sale/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/quality-on-offer-in-perth-autumn-thoroughbred-sale/ A quality line up of thoroughbreds will go under the hammer on Sunday, March 31 at the Magic Millions Perth Autumn Thoroughbred Sale from 1pm. The auction will be held at the new ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Shoals Scratching Pushes Sunlight Deep Into Red http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/shoals-scratching-pushes-sunlight-deep-into-red/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/shoals-scratching-pushes-sunlight-deep-into-red/ An announcement was made late Thursday afternoon by the Anthony Freedman stable that Shoals had been withdrawn from Friday night’s Gr1 William Reid Stakes due to a bruised foot. As a ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Rosehill Big Wet Forecast A Storm In A Teacup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/rosehill-big-wet-forecast-a-storm-in-a-teacup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/rosehill-big-wet-forecast-a-storm-in-a-teacup/ Despite dire predictions of heavy showers all week ahead of the Gr1 Golden Slipper meeting at Rosehill, Sydney’s northwest has actually basked in some fairly warm and clear conditions for much ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Winx At Her Shortest Price Ever http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/winx-at-her-shortest-price-ever/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/winx-at-her-shortest-price-ever/ There used to be two certainties in life, however since 16 May 2015, when she won the Gr2 Sunshine Coast Guineas, we've been able to add Winx to death and taxes. ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Middle Order Shake-Up Possible For Sires Table http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/middle-order-shake-up-possible-for-sires-table/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/middle-order-shake-up-possible-for-sires-table/ Heading into the weekend's bonanza of feature racing, headlined by a half-dozen Gr1 events, by Saturday night there could be some signficant movements on the Australian Sires Table. At the top, ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Weight Might Not Anchor Ambitious At Albury http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/weight-might-not-anchor-ambitious-at-albury/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/weight-might-not-anchor-ambitious-at-albury/ The old racing adage that weight stops trains is true – to a point. One of Australia's leading form analysts recently observed that extra weight for horses who are in good ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Nationwide Ripple Effect Of Gr1 Victory http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/nationwide-ripple-effect-of-gr1-victory/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/nationwide-ripple-effect-of-gr1-victory/ Although celebrations are not unique when a breeder or stud farm has a Gr1 winner, in the case of Sentimental Miss' New Zealand Oaks triumph, the ripple effects were nationwide. According ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Cleary Back For Another Go With Plunge Filly http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/cleary-back-for-another-go-with-plunge-filly/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/cleary-back-for-another-go-with-plunge-filly/ There are plunges, and there are plunges. In last weekend's Aquis Jewel at the Gold Coast, there was a massive 'go' for the Joe Cleary-trained filly Girls Are Ready. Given her ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 The Autumn Sun Nominated For Hong Kong Gr1s http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/the-autumn-sun-nominated-for-hong-kong-gr1s/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/the-autumn-sun-nominated-for-hong-kong-gr1s/ A recently announced change to Australian and Hong Kong quarentine regulations (reported here) has had the desired effect, with a significant number of Australian gallopers possible runners at Sha Tin’s Champions ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 First Fully-Operational Conghua Fixture On Saturday http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/first-fully-operational-conghua-fixture-on-saturday/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/first-fully-operational-conghua-fixture-on-saturday/ A new era will dawn in China’s long and fascinating relationship with horseracing when the Hong Kong Jockey Club stages its first fully-operational race fixture at Conghua Racecourse (see below) on ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 Weekend Black-Type Schedule http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/weekend-black-type-schedule/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/weekend-black-type-schedule/ A simply dazzling weekend of racing where even the weather looks likely to turn it on at Rosehill in Sydney (see earlier item).  It's also the second last time to view ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000 SUN 7.20pm: Listed Tavern Cup (2219m) Bunbury http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/sun-7-20pm-listed-tavern-cup-2219m-bunbury/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2019/03/22/sun-7-20pm-listed-tavern-cup-2219m-bunbury/ %%20190324_BUB_R5:Capel Tavern Hcp (C5)%% ... Fri, 22 Mar 2019 12:00:00 + 1000