Copyright 2020 Breeding Racing Monday, 20th January 2020 News / Breeding Racing (www.breedingracing.com) Australian Breeding & Racing Magazine is the definitive guide to the thoroughbred breeding & racing industry across Australia, New Zealand & South-east Asia - a MUST for all equine enthusiasts, potential investors & breeding aficionados. http://www.breedingracing.com en-us gknowles@breedingracing.com gknowles@breedingracing.com Gun Kiwi 3YO Ready to Explode http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/gun-kiwi-3yo-ready-to-explode/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/gun-kiwi-3yo-ready-to-explode/ Next Saturday is the jumping off point for what is potentially the best 3YO to come out of New Zealand in the past decade. Catalyst – by beautifully bred and performed ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Alligator Flight Path Revealed After Wednesday http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/alligator-flight-path-revealed-after-wednesday/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/alligator-flight-path-revealed-after-wednesday/ Cult 3YO gelding Alligator Blood (All Too Hard) might well take the autumn road less travelled than that which is expected of him. According to smh.com.au, the David Vandyke-trained sophomore, who ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 One Size Fits Moreira at Sha Tin http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/one-size-fits-moreira-at-sha-tin/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/one-size-fits-moreira-at-sha-tin/ The king is dead, long live the king. It’s perhaps a little premature to suggest that Beauty Generation will never sit atop his Hong Kong miler throne again given the tight ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Leg Up for Aethero Before Dubai Tilt http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/leg-up-for-aethero-before-dubai-tilt/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/leg-up-for-aethero-before-dubai-tilt/ Ommited from last Sunday’s Gr1 Centenary Sprint Cup (1200m) due to delayed recovery from a virus, boom Australian-bred Hong Kong sprinter Aethero has been left without a lead-in run ahead of ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Preview To Confirm Hanseatic Diamond Hopes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/preview-to-confirm-hanseatic-diamond-hopes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/preview-to-confirm-hanseatic-diamond-hopes/ Trainer Anthony Freedman, whose stable jewels include horses for Sheik Mohammed trained out of stunning Pinecliff at Mount Eliza in Victoria, is bang on target to potentially deliver a second consecutive ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Yes No Yes for Star Colt’s Jockeys http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/yes-no-yes-for-star-colts-jockeys/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/yes-no-yes-for-star-colts-jockeys/ There’s a lot at stake for hoops Glen Boss and Nash Rawiller ahead of the race return of star 3YO colt Yes Yes Yes (Rubick) as he gathers momentum into the ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Golden Slipper the Focus for Cellsabeel http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/golden-slipper-the-focus-for-cellsabeel/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/golden-slipper-the-focus-for-cellsabeel/ Turning one’s back on a shot at $2 million when you train the odds-on favourite is a brave call, yet that’s exactly what Ciaron Maher and David Eustace might advise the ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Avantage Avenges Belle’s Telegraph Defeat http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/avantage-avenges-belles-telegraph-defeat/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/avantage-avenges-belles-telegraph-defeat/ In the first of a Gr1 double header at Trentham, Te Akau Racing-campaigned mare Avantage showed all her fighting qualities when she overcame a wide barrier and a plucky southern rival ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Victorian Racetrack Ban Likely For Idiots http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/victorian-racetrack-ban-likely-for-idiots/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/victorian-racetrack-ban-likely-for-idiots/ In potentially catastrophic circumstances, two men ran onto the track at Cranbourne Racecourse during the running of a race on Friday night. Despite being brilliantly tackled and held down by a ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Thorndon Mile Success All In The Family http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/thorndon-mile-success-all-in-the-family/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/thorndon-mile-success-all-in-the-family/ Wellington’s Gr1 Thorndon Mile (1600m) at Trentham has always been one of the McKay family’s favourite races, but on Saturday it became much more special. Australian-bred The Mitigator delivered a third ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Wentwood Grange Record A Karaka Drawcard http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/wentwood-grange-record-a-karaka-drawcard/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/wentwood-grange-record-a-karaka-drawcard/ The Hawkins family’s Wentwood Grange has become a buyers’ beacon, and their draft for the upcoming 2020 New Zealand Bloodstock National Yearling Sale has the credentials to continue that trend. Graduates ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Diverse 2020 Wentwood Grange Karaka Offering http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/diverse-2020-wentwood-grange-karaka-offering/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/diverse-2020-wentwood-grange-karaka-offering/ Wentwood Grange will offer 35 yearlings at Karaka 2020, all in the Book 1 session which starts on 26 January. According to NZ Racing Desk, a notable feature of the draft ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 War Front Filly for Beholder at Spendthrift http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/war-front-filly-for-beholder-at-spendthrift/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/war-front-filly-for-beholder-at-spendthrift/ Four-time champion & three-time Breeders’ Cup winner Beholder delivered a dark bay filly by War Front Wednesday night at Spendthrift Farm in Lexington. “Beholder foaled a very nice War Front filly ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Waikuku Wins Gr1 Stewards' Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/waikuku-wins-gr1-stewards-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/waikuku-wins-gr1-stewards-cup/ %%20200119_SHA_R5:The Stewards' Cup%% Track: Sha Tin Race: HK$10,000,000 Gr1 Stewards' Cup (1600m) Winner: 5YO gelding Waikuku (Harbour Watch-London Plane, by Danehill Dancer) Placings: 7YO gelding Beauty Generation & 5YO gelding Ka Ying Star Winning Sire: Harbour ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Beat The Clock Wins Gr1 Centenary Sprint Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/beat-the-clock-wins-gr1-centenary-sprint-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/beat-the-clock-wins-gr1-centenary-sprint-cup/ %%20200119_SHA_R7:The Centenary Sprint Cup%% Track: Sha Tin Race: HK$10,000,000 Gr1 Centenary Sprint Cup (1200m) Winner: 6YO gelding Beat The Clock (Hinchinbrook-Flion Fenena, by Lion Hunter) Placings: 4YO gelding Thanks Forever & 5YO gelding Hot King ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Avantage Wins Gr1 Telegraph http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/avantage-wins-gr1-telegraph/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/avantage-wins-gr1-telegraph/ %%20200118_TRE_R7:Jr N Berkett Telegraph%% Track: Trentham Race: $250,000 Gr1 Telegraph (1200m) Winner: 4YO mare Avantage (Fastnet Rock-Asavant, by Zabeel) Placings: 7YO gelding Enzo's Lad & 5YO mare Spring Heat Winning Sire: Fastnet Rock (Danehil-Piccadilly Circus, by ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 The Mitigator Wins Gr1 Thorndon Mile http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/the-mitigator-wins-gr1-thorndon-mile/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/the-mitigator-wins-gr1-thorndon-mile/ %%20200118_TRE_R8:Harcourts Thorndon Mile%% Track: Trentham Race: $200,000 Gr1 Thorndon Mile (1600m) Winner: 5YO gelding The Mitigator (Master Of Design-Charming Ruby, by Rubiton) Placings: 6YO horse Wyndspelle & 6YO mare Yearn Winning Sire: Master Of Design (Redoute’s ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Soleseifei Wins Gr3 Wellington Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/soleseifei-wins-gr3-wellington-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/soleseifei-wins-gr3-wellington-cup/ %%20200118_TRE_R9:Nz Campus Wellington Cup%% Track: Trentham Race: $250,000 Gr3 Wellington Cup (3200m) Winner: 7YO mare Soleseifei (Shocking-Evaline, by Van Nistelrooy) Placings: 5YO gelding The Good Fight & 6YO gelding Toms Winning Sire: Shocking (Street Cry-Maria di ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Showbeel Wins Gr3 NZB Desert Gold Stks http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/showbeel-wins-gr3-nzb-desert-gold-stks/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/showbeel-wins-gr3-nzb-desert-gold-stks/ %%20200118_TRE_R5:Nz Bloodstock Desert Gold Stks%% Track: Trentham Race: $70,000 Gr3 NZB Desert Gold Stks (1600m) Winner: 3YO filly Showbeel (Savabeel-Showileo, by Galileo) Placings: 3YO filly Loire & 3YO filly Jennifer Eccles Winning Sire: Savabeel (Zabeel-Savannah Success, ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Still A Star Wins Listed Launceston Guineas http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/still-a-star-wins-listed-launceston-guineas/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/still-a-star-wins-listed-launceston-guineas/ %%20200118_LAU_R5:Kevin Sharkie Launceston Guine%% Track: Launceston Race: $100,000 Listed Launceston Guineas (2100m) Winner: 3YO filly Still A Star (Toronado-Lita, by Casino Prince) Placings: 3YO gelding Heaven's Bonus & 3YO gelding Vamos Raffa Winning Sire: Toronado (High ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Valour Road Wins Listed Miss Andretti Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/valour-road-wins-listed-miss-andretti-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/valour-road-wins-listed-miss-andretti-stakes/ %%20200118_ASC_R5:Miss Andretti Stakes%% Track: Ascot Race: $100,000 Listed Miss Andretti Stakes (1100m) Winner: 4YO gelding Valour Road (Frost Giant-Melba Avenue, by Street Sense) Placings: 6YO gelding Belter & 6YO gelding Don't Fuss Winning Sire: Frost Giant ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Bold Star Wins Listed Kensington Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/bold-star-wins-listed-kensington-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/bold-star-wins-listed-kensington-stakes/ %%20200118_FLE_R5:Kensington Stakes%% Track: Flemington Race: $140,000 Listed Kensington Stakes (1000m) Winner: 4YO gelding Bold Star (Needs Further-Alzahra Star, by Danewin) Placings: 4YO mare Causeway Girl & 5YO gelding All Too Royal Winning Sire: Needs Further (Encosta ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Lightning Jack Wins Listed Gore Guineas http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/lightning-jack-wins-listed-gore-guineas/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/01/20/lightning-jack-wins-listed-gore-guineas/ %%20200118_GOE_R8:Liquorland Gore Guineas%% Track: Gore Race: $50,000 Listed Gore Guineas (1335m) Winner: 3YO gelding Lightning Jack (Per Incanto-La Petite, by Savabeel) Placings: 3YO filly Live Drama & 3YO filly Bronte Beach Winning Sire: Per Incanto (Street ... Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:00:00 + 1000