Copyright 2020 Breeding Racing Wednesday, 1st April 2020 News / Breeding Racing (www.breedingracing.com) Australian Breeding & Racing Magazine is the definitive guide to the thoroughbred breeding & racing industry across Australia, New Zealand & South-east Asia - a MUST for all equine enthusiasts, potential investors & breeding aficionados. http://www.breedingracing.com en-us gknowles@breedingracing.com gknowles@breedingracing.com Kia Ora Stud A Key Easter Drawcard http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/kia-ora-stud-a-key-easter-drawcard/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/kia-ora-stud-a-key-easter-drawcard/ One of a small roster of serious boutique thoroughbred Hunter Valley nurseries, Kia Ora has an astonishingly successful history – one laid down many decades before its new owner Ananda Krishnan ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 VIC Official Infers Lockouts Likely Until Spring http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/vic-official-infers-lockouts-likely-until-spring/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/vic-official-infers-lockouts-likely-until-spring/ Despite the current ban on Victorian racetrack attendance technically due to conclude in less than two weeks – it was originally put in place for 4 weeks on 13 March – ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Inglis Creates Easter Digital Sale Advisory Guide http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/inglis-creates-easter-digital-sale-advisory-guide/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/inglis-creates-easter-digital-sale-advisory-guide/ In the approach to the 2020 Inglis Easter Yearling Sale which, technically, gets underway on Sunday, Inglis is engaging strongly with the thoroughbred industry to communicate how the online sale will ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 20 Percent Reduction For All WA Codes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/20-percent-reduction-for-all-wa-codes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/20-percent-reduction-for-all-wa-codes/ Racing and Wagering Western Australia (RWWA) has announced that, as of next Monday, each of the thoroughbred, standardbred and greyhound codes will have prizemoney reduced by 20 percent, reports thewest.com.au. The ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Brutal Retirement Brought Forward http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/brutal-retirement-brought-forward/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/brutal-retirement-brought-forward/ The cancellation of the 2020 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival, which many pundits believe was decided too soon, is the main reason behind an early retirement of exciting stallion prospect Brutal (O’Reilly-Alberton ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Field Sizes & Races Limited in Victoria http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/field-sizes-and-races-limited-in-victoria/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/field-sizes-and-races-limited-in-victoria/ Further restrictions are being put in place by Victorian racing authorities, reports punters.com.au. In addition to limiting field sizes for genral races to 14 starters, Racing Victoria will also restrict races ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Boss Confident He Can Bag Group Ones http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/boss-confident-he-can-bag-group-ones/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/boss-confident-he-can-bag-group-ones/ Jockey Glen Boss is confident he can win at least two of the four Gr1 races on the first day of The Championships at Randwick on Saturday, reports racing.com. After riding ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Nature Strip Holds TJ Smith Key http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/nature-strip-holds-tj-smith-key/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/nature-strip-holds-tj-smith-key/ Having come up with the rails draw, a good thing in his case, Nature Strip has firmed slightly with TAB to become the outright $4.60 favourite for Saturday’s Gr1 TJ Smith ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 VRC Succession Plan Announced http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/vrc-succession-plan-announced/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/vrc-succession-plan-announced/ The Victoria Racing Club announced their succession plan in a press release, stating that the COVID-19 pandemic had altered the timing of the change of chairman. Current Chairman Amanda Elliott said, ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Grounded Planes Affect Horse Travel http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/grounded-planes-affect-horse-travel/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/grounded-planes-affect-horse-travel/ International Racehorse Transport hasn't flown since March 26, and is working with authorities to develop protocols for horse transportation, reports bloodhorse.com. "Obviously, in light of what the world is trying to ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Valuable Snitzel Colt To Debut at Rosehill http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/valuable-snitzel-colt-to-debut-at-rosehill/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/valuable-snitzel-colt-to-debut-at-rosehill/ The Hyland Race Colours Maiden 2YO Handicap at Rosehill today over 1200m will feature the debut of $650,000 yearling War Flag (Snitzel-Alice's Smart, by Smart Strike). Sold by Edinburgh Park to ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Melody Belle Joint Doncaster Top-Weight http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/melody-belle-joint-doncaster-top-weight/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/melody-belle-joint-doncaster-top-weight/ Champion New Zealand mare Melody Belle, winner of 10 Gr1 races, will carry the #1 saddle-cloth in Saturday’s Gr1 Doncaster Handicap. That’s not something her trainer Jamie Richards was aspiring too, ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Cox Plate Centenary Could Be Delayed 12 Months http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/cox-plate-centenary-could-be-delayed-12-months/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/cox-plate-centenary-could-be-delayed-12-months/ In what would have been an unthinkable scenario just over a month ago for the Moonee Valley Racing Club, there is no a possibility that the one hundredth anniversary meeting of ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Standout Sibling a Likely Easter Standout http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/standout-sibling-a-likely-easter-standout/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/standout-sibling-a-likely-easter-standout/ There are only two genuine empirical arbiters of thoroughbred success: the racetrack and the sales ring. On that score alone, George Altomonte’s Corumbene Stud can be said to be one of ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Doncaster Dream Over for Fifty Stars http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/doncaster-dream-over-for-fifty-stars/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/doncaster-dream-over-for-fifty-stars/ Subsequent to a Sydney trial last Friday where co-trainer David Hayes says he pulled up “uneven in his action”, top class 5YO entire Fifty Stars has been withdrawn from Saturday’s Gr1 ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 HKJC Simulcast Betting Impacted by COVID-19 http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/hkjc-simulcast-betting-impacted-by-covid-19/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/hkjc-simulcast-betting-impacted-by-covid-19/ The COVID-19 pandemic has affected racing jurisdictions globally, with simulcasts, betting pools, horse sales, and commingling all affected, reports scmp.com. Compared with other sports, racing has managed to continue because it ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Global Pool Hosting At Risk for HKJC http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/global-pool-hosting-at-risk-for-hkjc/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/04/01/global-pool-hosting-at-risk-for-hkjc/ Meanwhile, the Hong Kong Jockey Club is scheduled to host the "world pool" for Royal Ascot – which combines the betting from 10 countries to create more liquidity and price certainty ... Wed, 1 Apr 2020 12:00:00 + 1000